The Farewell Season

Megan Hutchings, A&E Editor

American Idol has been a huge part of many music lovers’ lives since 2002 when it first

aired. Each year a new superstar has been given the coveted title of the American Idol. After

fourteen years of this beloved show, this year is the final season of American Idol.

Because this is the final season that will be aired of American Idol, it is titled the farewell

season, and all the stops have been pulled out. One of the most memorable parts of this season is

the duets that the finalists were able to do with previous American Idol winners and other

memorable contestants. Some of these included Ruben Studdard, Fantasia Barrino, and Scotty

McCreary. Throughout the different episodes, there have been many different references to the

previous winners of the show. There have been a total of fourteen singers who have won the

show. It all started with Kelly Clarkson as the season one winner, and last year’s winner was

Nick Fradiani. When people were auditioning, the judges repeatedly said that they were looking

for a powerhouse to bookend Kelly Clarkson.

Since this is the farewell season of American Idol, the judges have been having a really

hard time narrowing down the competition. They have commented several times how much

talent there is this year on the show. The judges that will be choosing the final American Idol this

year are Keith Urban, Harry Conick Jr., and Jennifer Lopez. Ryan Seacrest will be hosting again,

as he has also become a huge part of American Idol.

Out of the thousands of contestants that auditioned for the show, the judges and America

have finally narrowed it down to the top four final contestants. They include: MacKenzie Bourg,

Dalton Rapottoni, Trent Harmon, and La’Porsha Renae.

Megan Hutchings

Even though there won’t be any more seasons of American Idol, it will still continue to

be a part of our lives as we continue to watch the amazing artists that came out of this show

continue to grow and perform.